Environmentalist of the Year

EOY 2021 will be September 24, 2021

The Board has decided to delay until hopefully we can have our usual in-person Environmentalist of the Year.  Dennos & Milliken at NMEAC is booked and we hope that our 32nd Annual celebration can go forward "normally".  We considered a virtual April EOY, but feel that one of the biggest rewards of an EOY are the great mingling face-to-face networking that happens in Dennos, and in the auditorium as people gather, or depart.  

More information about reservations, nominations, and other details will be added here soon!


EOY 2020 is Canceled!

THURSDAY, MARCH 12, 2020 - Today the NMEAC Board took the unprecedented action of canceling our 32nd Annual Environmentalist of the Year Awards & Celebration scheduled for Friday, April 24th at the Dennos Museum due to the coronavirus. This was an extremely tough decision but the board felt it was the right one to make.

We want to protect the health and safety of all our nominees, supporters, underwriters and advertisers. Many large gatherings in Michigan are now being canceled and we wanted to be sure everyone had enough advance notice. We are rescheduling the event to April 23, 2021.

This is our largest event of the year and it has been held for 32 years annually since 1988. We also expect other large gathering events in our region to be canceled in the near future. This is also NMEAC's 40th Anniversary and we had planned a separate event for this fall and the event is in the planning stages.

Greg Reisig
Co-Chair, NMEAC

PS from your editor: The 55 nominations this year were outstanding again. We'll use them next year, perhaps accepting a few more honoring the great things folks will do in the next 12 months. More info will be coming to sponsors and others instrumental to EOY 2020.


get updates